Excuse Me? Why You Should Stop Making Excuses

shield-417828_1920.jpgI’m too tired. I don’t have enough time. It’s not really a priority.

Excuses like these get in our way of doing what we want far too often. I’m speaking from experience, and admittedly I’ve been making more and more excuses for myself that keep me from doing the things I’m passionate about.

And that’s exactly what they are. Excuses. Before you try to make justifications, just sit back and reflect for a minute. Think about that one thing (or maybe more than one thing) that you love to do but never seem to have time for. That’s the thing though: You probably do. We all see and think about time a little differently, but can agree on one point, and that’s feeling like we never have enough of it.

You carve time out for your friends, your family, appointments, errands and even TV shows. You need to carve time out for you, and doing the things that make you, well…you.

I haven’t written expressly for myself in far too long, but in this moment, the process of writing a few hundred words on a screen is surprisingly therapeutic. It reinforces in me my strengths, and helps me see everything a little clearer. That’s what practicing our passions does: It reminds us of who we are, what we’re good at and helps construct our world view.

We do many things in this world out of obligation and routine. Ask yourself, “Am I really doing anything just for me?” If the answer is no, then it’s about time you did. And I don’t mean do something for yourself in the artificial sense. (Treat yo self!) I mean do something that feeds your soul. You know what that thing is (or things are). So get out there and do it. I’ll be taking my own advice on this one, too.

Leave a Reply

